One Street. Countless Possibilities.

NW 23rd Ave Person of the Week Interview by Caroline Hayes

This week I was happy to interview NW 23rd Ave resident and patron, Komo Bains.  A West-Coaster by birth and at heart, Komo was born in California and moved around the North West as a child before deciding upon Portland as his chosen home.  He now resides in an apartment just off NW 23rd Ave.  I see Komo regularly at the Starbucks on NW 23rd and Hoyt where he grabs his morning Americano before readying himself for a day of glamorizing the people of Portland.  A big thanks to Komo for being willing to share a little bit about himself:

How long have you lived in Portland?  Why do you love it here?

I have lived in Portland for about  seven years and I’ve lived all around the city, from Milwaukie to NoPo and now NW 23rd.  I love that in Portland anything goes.

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I’m a hairdresser in the Pearl at a salon called Magnum Opus.  I’m 28 years old, I’m a GAY.  I spend a lot of my time working out, spending time with friends, and traveling.

What kind of books are you into?

I’m not a big reader, but when I do read it’s David Sedaris or Chelsea Handler.

Any local Portland artists that you think more people should know about?

My dearest friend Daniel Borgen is a writer for Just Out (www.justout.com);  I love his writing style and his sense of humor.

Describe a recent dream.

The most recent was about earthquakes; it woke me up. I thought the apartment was falling apart, walls were coming down, very scary!

Tell us about your dream home.

A giant condo, like 3000 sq ft , no yard, just a big balcony, big kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, and a husband to clean and pay for it all.

What would your superpower be?

To change the weather like storm from the X-Men.

What would your mundane superpower be?

I would grow hair quickly — I would be the richest hairdresser ever!

What is your favorite thing about living on NW 23rd Ave?

I love the energy of the street, there’s always something to buy , eat, or drink, I’m really good at those three things.

What is your favorite store on NW 23rd?

Kiehl’s; I always need some new beauty product.

Your favorite place to eat?

Can I have two?  Jo Bar and 23Hoyt.

What is the strangest thing you’ve ever seen on NW 23rd?

I notice things everyday, the street brings in the crazy from all over.

Thanks again Komo!

Leave a Reply

